President’s Message

Anne Charles
CSSHE President
Anne Charles photo
As the thirty eighth (38th) President of the Canadian Society for the Study of Higher Education it is my pleasure to extend our welcome, and invite you to share and participate in the society. We were founded in 1970 to provide a means of communication among those persons conducting or using research in postsecondary education. While the landscape of higher education in Canada has evolved over the years, our objective and mission is still relevant today.

Our society remains committed to its mission to “promote scholarship related to postsecondary education through publications and scholarly conferences.” CSSHE is a Not-for-Profit Corporation, governed by an elected board of directors. We are funded through membership fees, donations, and a grant from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada.

Our membership is both interdisciplinary and higher education specific. Our members include faculty from universities, colleges, polytechnics and institutes, graduate students, practitioners, senior administrators, and public servants. Professionals from business, private organizations, research institutions and elsewhere are also increasingly drawn towards engagement with our society. We share common aims: to create, promote and disseminate knowledge and research on all things higher education, including best practices. Our members connect in multiple ways to collaborate on research and to engage in conversation. CSSHE continues to be an important forum and voice for all who have interests and concerns about trends and issues in post-secondary education in Canada.

CSSHE’s growth in recent years now extends in multiple ways. As a member of the Canadian Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences, we continue to host our annual conference within the Congress organized by the Federation. Our open-access peer-reviewed online journal, Canadian Journal for Higher Education (CJHE), funded by a grant from the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council of Canada (SSHRC) also continues to be an important Canadian voice and a forum for knowledge sharing. CSSHE connects scholars from across the country. Our growing number of affinity groups is testament to our success; currently five in number they include Governance and Leadership, International Higher Education, Community Engagement, Blended and Online teaching and Learning, and Student Success. Our members have also expressed interest in forming more affinity groups, two of which are anticipated in the short term. CSSHE provides networking opportunities and vehicles for scholars and practitioners to collaborate and engage.

I invite you to get involved, and look forward to our conversations through our affinity groups, website, blogs, conferences, and special events.

Anne Charles

Former Presidents
2012-2014 – Walter Archer
2010-2012 – Alan Davis
2008-2010 – Keith Archer
2006-2008 – Esther Enns
2004-2006 – David Kirby
2003-2004 – Alenoush Saroyan
2001-2003 – Sheila Brown
2000-2001 – Geraldine Woodford
1999-2000 – Pierre Roberge
1998-1999 – Valerie Grabove
1997-1998 – Bryant Griffith
1996-1997 – Glen Jones
1995-1996 – Roy Bonin
1993-1995 – Alice Boberg
1992-1993 – Dan Birch
1991-1992 – Terry Hogan
1990-1991 – Janet Donald
1989-1990 – Norman Uhl
1988-1989 – Paul Gallagher
1987-1988 – Naomi Hersom
1986-1987 – Alexander Gregor
1985-1986 – Charles Bélanger
1984-1985 – Max von Zur Muehlen
1983-1984 – Bernard Sheehan
1982-1983 – John Daniel
1981-1982 – W.A.S. Smith
1980-1981 – Jeffrey Holmes
1979-1980 – Grant Clarke
1978-1979 – John Dennison
1977-1978 – W.M. Sibley
1976-1977 – André Côté
1975-1976 – Ronald Baker
1974-1975 – Malcolm Taylor
1973-1974 – Lucien Michaud
1972-1973 – R.M. Clark
1971-1972 – Pierre-Paul Proulx
1970-1971 – Edward Sheffield