Research and Scholarship Award


The purpose of this award is to recognize research and scholarship on higher education and/or topics directly relevant to Canadian higher education which can include the socio-political context, access, governance, teaching and learning, institutional studies, or education and employment.


The award is intended to be conferred on a practicing scholar in mid-career. A scholar in mid-career is an individual who, in addition to having an established reputation for scholarship will continue to contribute to research in the field for some time to come. A mid-career scholar is normally 7-20 years post-Ph.D., has a significant publication record, and an established reputation for publishing research on aspects of Canadian higher education.

In reviewing candidates for the award, particular emphasis will be given to work published by the candidate in the last five years (immediate past five years, excluding parental, medical, or other recognized leaves from research activity), with at least five publications in reputable peer-refereed journals, book chapters, and/or scholarly books in the field of higher education. The award is not meant to recognize teaching or service to institutions or the profession.

Nomination Procedure

Nominations may be made by members or non-members, but self-nominations will not be accepted. Nominators may submit a maximum of two nominations per year. Nominations must be forwarded in electronic form to the CSSHE Secretariat in MSWord format. The deadline for nominations is 31 January each year.

Each submission must be complete and include:

  • A duly completed nomination form;
  • A letter of nomination introducing the candidate and providing a supporting rationale for the nomination (please address the criteria directly);
  • A curriculum vitae of the candidate, including a full list of publications.
  • Examples of recent publications of the candidate (maximum 3).

The Secretariat
Research and Scholarship Award
Canadian Society for the Study of Higher Education

Past Recipients

Year Author(s) Institution
2018 Amy Metcalfe University of British Columbia
2017 Not Awarded
2016 Heather Kanuka University of Alberta
2015 Creso Sá University of Toronto
2014 Not Awarded
2013 Not Awarded
2012 Not Awarded
2011 Not Awarded
2010 Not Awarded
2009 Lesley Andres The University of British Columbia
2008 Not Awarded
2007 Not Awarded
2006 Lynn McAlpine McGill University
2005 Not Awarded
2004 D. Randy Garrison The University of Calgary
2003 Not Awarded
2002 Not Awarded
2001 Glen A. Jones OISE/University of Toronto
2000 John S. Levin The University of Arizona
1999 Rodney A. Clifton &
Paul Grayson
The University of Manitoba
Akinson College/York University
1998 Sandra Acker OISE/University of Toronto
1997 Philip Abrami &
Gilles Nadeau
Concordia University
Universite de Moncton
1996 A.B. McKillop Caleton University
1995 Not Awarded
1994 Janet Donald McGill University
1993 Harry Murray The University of Western Ontario
1992 Paul Axelrod York University
1991 Raymond Perry The University of Manitoba
1990 Michael Skolnik OISE/University of Toronto