2022 CSSHE Research and Scholarship Award

Congratulations to Roopa Desai Trilokekar of York University, this year’s winner of the Research and Scholarship Award!

This award recognizes research and scholarship on higher education and/or topics directly relevant to Canadian higher education which can include the socio-political context, access, governance, teaching and learning, institutional studies, or education and employment.

This award is conferred on a mid-career professional who is nominated by their colleagues, and focuses on their most recent 5 years of publications. Click here to read more about the award.

You can read more about Dr Trilokekar on the YorkU website, and find her publications here.

2022 Award for Master’s Thesis or Project

Congratulations to Christina Arayata, the winner of the 2022 Award for her outstanding Master’s Thesis: Identity navigation and understanding in demographic surveys!

CSSHE sponsors an annual award for the outstanding Master’s thesis or project in Canadian universities in the area of higher education. Recipeints’ work focuses on topics in higher education relevant to Canada, including the societal context, access, organization and governance, teaching and learning, institutional studies, or education and employment. Read more about the award here.

2022 George L. Geis Dissertation Award

Congratulations to Candace Brunette-Debassige of Western University, the 2022 winner of the George L. Geis Dissertation Award for her thesis The Trickiness of Settler Colonialism: Indigenous Women Administrators’ Experiences of Policy in Canadian Universities.

This is an award for an outstanding dissertation or thesis in Canadian universities that examines higher education topics. Dissertations and theses should focus on topics in higher education, including the sociopolitical context, access, governance, teaching and learning, institutional studies, and education and employment.


2022 Edward F. Sheffield Award Winners

Congratulations to the 2022 CJHE Sheffield Award Winners: Victoria Ford, Alyssa Wooster, and Mary Bartram for their article Work Hard, Party Hard: Harm Reduction in a Postsecondary Setting.

The Edward F. Sheffield Award was named in honour of Ted Sheffield, the first Professor of Higher Education in Canada (University of Toronto), and founding President of CSSHE. The award recognizes the best research article published in the Canadian Journal of Higher Education each year.

The editorial team selects the winner using the following criteria: centrality and relevance of the issue addressed to CJHE mission; originality and creativity in the use of theory and application of theory; appropriateness of the research methodology; clarity of the argument; effectiveness of the presentation, organization, and style; strength of conclusions; and relevance and significance to Canadian higher education.

Read more about the award here.