The Distinguished Member Award is to recognize current or former members who have made distinguished contributions to the study of higher education.

CSSHE is seeking nominations for its Distinguished Member Award.

Distinguished membership is a meaningful recognition, bestowed sparingly, and only to those persons who have made significant and substantial contributions to the Society and the study of higher education. (Distinguished membership does not recognize persons retiring from active service to the Society who perhaps may have earned “emeritus” rather than “distinguished” membership.)

Distinguished membership status shall be awarded for the lifetime* of the individual, with membership dues waived.

Nominees for the Distinguished Member Award must be, or have been, actively engaged in the Society and have contributed substantially to the study of higher education over a long period of time, as an influential scholar or practitioner. Nominations will be judged according to the following qualifications:

  • Contribution to the Society:
    The person has made sustained contributions through active engagement in the Society; and
  • Contribution to Research and/or Practice:
    1. The person has played an active role in the study of higher education and has contributed to widely disseminated scholarly research; and/or
    2. The person has played an active role as a practitioner (i.e., president or other postsecondary administrator, government or agency official, interest group or community leader, etc.) in the development of research in higher education and/or the state of professional practice in higher education; and
  • Influence
    Through research and/or practice, the influence of this person has been felt on higher education in Canada.

Please submit your nomination, including a statement of how the candidate meets the criteria above, electronically to Tim Howard at

The deadline for submissions is 31 January each year.

*The Board of Directors reserves the right to revoke the Distinguished Member Award and associated recognition where circumstances, in the opinion of the Board, warrant such consideration.

The following members were honoured for their contributions:

Margaret (Peggy) Paterson (2019)
Walter Archer (2016)
William Bruneau (2015)
Alan Davis (2014)
Lesley Andres (2013)
Daniel Lang (2013)
Paul Anisef (2012)
James Turk (2012)
Glen Jones (2011)
Hans Schuetze (2009)
Raymond Perry (2007)
Sheila Brown (2006)
Michael B. Andrews (2005)
Gwenna Moss (2004)
Charles Bélanger (2003)
Kenneth-Roy Bonin (2002)
Michael Skolnik (2001)
Edward A. Holdaway (2000)
Cicely Watson (1999)
Janet G. Donald (1998)
Kenneth Clements (1997)
Jeffrey Holmes (1996)
Alexander Gregor (1995)
Norman P. Uhl (1994)
Naomi L. Hersom (1993) [deceased]
John D. Dennison (1992)
John S. Daniel (1991)
Sam Smith (1990) [deceased]
Bernard S. Sheehan (1989)
Ronald J. Baker (1988)
William M. Sibley (1987) [deceased]
Robin S. Harris (1986) [deceased]
T.H.B. Symons (1985)
Miles Wisenthal (1983) [deceased]
E.F. Sheffield (1977) [deceased]