Celebrating 50 years of both the Canadian Society for Studies in Higher Education (CSSHE) and the Canadian Journal of Higher Education (CJHE)

Thank you to the Centre for Higher Education Research and Development at the University of Manitoba for supporting this webinar.

Thursday, May 6, 2021 from 12-1.30pm EST
REGISTER NOW: https://my.demio.com/ref/7MS3mjj2bd03k0cI


  • Roopa Desai Trilokekar, Associate Professor, Faculty of Education, York University
  • Merli Tamtik, Associate Professor, Educational Administration, Foundations & Psychology, University of Manitoba


Sheila Brown is President Emerita of Mount Saint Vincent University, having served two terms as its 9th President. She continues to be actively involved in professional development programs for university leaders. She is a long time member of CSSHE, and served as a Board member 1996-2000, Vice-President 2000-01, President 2001-04 and Past President 2004-05. She was named Distinguished Member in 2006.

Dr. Kathleen Clarke is currently an Assistant Professor in the Faculty of Education at Wilfrid Laurier University, where she mainly teaches in the Master of Education – Student Affairs Field of Study. She graduated with her PhD in Higher Education from OISE/University of Toronto in 2019. Kathleen served as the Graduate Student Representative for the Canadian Society for the Study of Higher Education for three years (2014-2017), during which time she was the Local Area Coordinator for the annual conference at Brock (2014) and conference co-chair at the University of Ottawa (2015) and the University of Calgary (2016). She also regularly presents at the annual conference for the society on topics related to graduate education, students with disabilities, and students’ mental health.

Dr. Amira El Masri is the Director of the Center for Global Education and Internationalization at Sheridan. She’s been an active CSSHE member since 2013. She was a member of the CSSHE Conference Planning Committee for two consecutive years (2020 and 2021) and is currently an elected member of CSSHE Board of Directors. She was the winner of the  2020 CSSHE Geis Doctoral Dissertation Award for her doctoral dissertation “International education as policy: A discourse coalition framework analysis of the construction, context, and empowerment of Ontario’s international education storylines”.

Alexander (Sandy) Gregor, retired from the University of Manitoba as Professor of Higher Education and Director of the Division of Postsecondary Studies and Director of Centre for Higher Education Research and Development (CHERD). Currently, part of Senior College at the University of Toronto, as a Founding Fellow; and Editor of the Senior College Encyclopedia.

Was President CSSHE (1986-87) and  Editor-in-Chief of the Canadian Journal of Higher Education in the 1990’s; and for a time CSSHE Executive Secretary, when the Society and Journal were administered through CHERD.

Glen A. Jones is professor of higher education and dean of the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education, University of Toronto. He was President of the CSSHE in 1996-97 and co-editor of the CJHE from 1997-1999. He received the CSSHE Research Award in 2001 and the Distinguished Member Award in 2011. He received an honorary doctorate from the University of Manitoba in recognition of his contributions to the study of higher education in Canada.

Eric Lavigne is the Coordinator of Program Development at Université de l’Ontario français, the Editor of the French section of the Canadian Journal of Higher Education, and a lecturer in OISE’s Higher Education program. His research interests gravitate around higher education administration, organizational theory, and micropolitics.